Department of English
Department of Mass Communication
Department of BODO
Department of Hindi
Department of History
Department of Accountancy
Department of Management
Department of Commerce
Department of Mathematics
Department of Political Science
Department of Philosophy
Department of Bangali
Department of Assamese
Department of Education
Department of Economics
Department of BBA
1. Faculty profile - (adequacy and competency of faculty):
The department Commerce was started in the College from 1972 just after the college was granted deficit grant by the Govt. Assam, with two subjects namely Book keeping and Business Method at the +2 level. There after, with the initiatives of the then Principal Shri S.C.Chakraborty and few local people, the B.Com Course was started in the College in 1978.At the initial stage the classes of the B.Com level were held at night shift and it was brought to day shift in 1979. The first batch of B.Com final appeared in 1980 and 60% of them came out successfully, where two of them passed with distinction. The B.Com course was brought under the deficit system Grant-in Aid w.e.f. 01.09.1983 and the full-fledged commerce stream at pre-degree level was opened in 1984. The Major (Honours) course in the Management was introduced in the College in 1996. At the initial stage the intake capacity of the department was 30 and now it is raised to more than 60.

The department started functioning well under the headship of Late K.C.Nath, the former HOD and Principal on the College. After the domicile of Shri K.C. Nath, now the department is headed by Mr. B.K.Choudhury. The department started bearing an added responsibility when the BBA department was introduced in the College curriculum in the year 2008. The present faculty profile of the department can be summarized as follows:
Name of the teacher Designation Qualification Research Experience Teaching Experience
Mr. Om Prakash Agarwala HOD & Associate Professor. M.Com 32 years
Mr. Mujhar Ali HOD Accy.& Associate Professor M.Com 31 years
Mr. Bimal Kr. Choudhury HOD Mgt. & Associate Proff. M.Com, LLB 18 years
Mr. Phatik Ch. Kalita Asstt. Professor M.Com, M.Phil 12 years
Mr. Om Prakash Sah Adhock M.Com, M.Phil 06 years
Mr. Mrs. Manika Madhi Contractual MCA, PGDCA, M.Phil 06 years
Mr. Ranjit Dutta Contractual M.Com, M.Phil, SLET 12 years
Mr. Krishna Gopal Ghosh Contractual M.Com, LLB 02 years
Ms Kushum Choudhury Contractual M.Com 01 year
Miss Nenglamhoi Hengna Assistant Professor M.Com 0 Years 03 Years
2. Student Profile- entry level competencies, socio-economic status, language proficiency etc.:
Admission policy.
The intake capacity of the department, particularly for Major (honours) students in degree programme is decided by the college administration. Fourty students Management can be enrolled in major classes as per the present admission policy of the College. The department enrols the candidates for such course on the basis of the academic weight age scored by the applicant on the basis of their aggregate marks, marks in Business Study secured at the intermediate level. The cut-off percentage of such weight is 40% for our department. In case the number of eligible candidates exceeds the intake capacity, the department has the provision of conducting entrance test for selecting the qualified candidates for such enrolment in TDC 1st year classes.
No. of students in the department during the current year:
SC ST OBC General
1 TDC I (Major) 22 11 28 37 98
2 TDC I (General) 16 17 20 76 129
3 TDC II (Major) 7 6 27 37 78
4 TDC II (General) 9 7 22 23 61
5 TDC III (Major) 5 10 11 26 52
6 TDC III (General) 6 8 7 22 43
3.Changes made in the course or programmes during the past two years and the contribution of the faculty to those changes:
Bongaigaon College is affiliated to Gauhati University. Hence it undertakes the courses designed by the University for Undergraduate Programmes of Arts and Commerce streams. However, the faculty members design their respective teaching plan and supply split-up syllabus to the students for entire session considering to the departmental academic calendar. The University has changed the syllabi of Commerce stream including Accountancy for TDC classes in the year 2009. More over the Gauhati University has decided to introduce the semester system in the B.Com course from academic year 2011-12.
4. Trends in the success and drop out rates of students during the past two years
Accountancy Department of the College has an ascending trend of quality education reflected in the results of both HS and TDC in Major and General courses. In 1984 Mr. Bijoy Kr. Agarwala Ist Class Ist position in the B.Com final year examination with Distingtion. In 1998 Miss Kushum Choudhury secured 3rd position in the HS final examination from commerce stream. In the year 2002 Miss Sarita Sethia secured 5th position in the HS (Com.) final year examination. Mr. Siv Kumar Sureka has secured IST class 3rd position in Accountancy in the year 2006. In 2009-10 Mr. Ankit Agarwala and Mr. Piyush Gugulia of HS Final Year stood the 4th and 7th Position in the state ranked and 7 students secured First Class with good position in the B.Com (Major) final examination of Gauhati University. In the year 2009-10 seven students of B.Com final year secured Ist class and lots of students from HS did good result with star marks from HS.