Department of English
Department of Mass Communication
Department of BODO
Department of Hindi
Department of History
Department of Accountancy
Department of Management
Department of Commerce
Department of Mathematics
Department of Political Science
Department of Philosophy
Department of Bangali
Department of Assamese
Department of Education
Department of Economics
Department of BBA
1. Faculty profile - (adequacy and competency of faculty):
The subject Political Science was introduced in the college curriculum since the inception of Degree Programme of Arts stream in 1964. It became the full-fledged department in the year 1974 with the introduction of Political Science Honours for the students of undergraduate level. The department was headed under the headship of late J.K.Majumder who unfortunately expired on 16-01-1995.Consequently late D.C.Das became the head of the department who also expired on 21-03-2001. As a result of unfortunate demise of Mr. D.C.Das, Mr. Amzad Hussain took the responsibility of the Headship of the department in the same year.
Name of the teacher Designation Qualification Research Experience Teaching Experience
Mr.Amzad  Hussain Associate Professor M.A - 34 Years
Mr, Harendra Chandra Chakraborty Associate Professor M.A - 24 Years
Mr. Bhabani Prasad Sharma Associate Professor M.A - 18 Years
Mr. Manish Prasad Non- Sanctioned M.A, NET - 8 Years
Mr.Debasish Nath Contractual M.A, B.Ed. - 3 Years
Mr. Nil Kamal Narzary Contractual M.A, NET - 2 Years
Mr. Biju Boro Contractual M.A, M.Phil - 3 Months
2. Student Profile- entry level competencies, socio-economic status, language proficiency etc.:
Admission policy.
the department of Political Science doesn’t have any separate administrative policy for the general course. After passing the twelve classes final examination the intending students can take up the Political Science as their general course. There are 30 seats in the TDC 1st year major class where admission is given on the basis of 40% cut off marks. However, preference is given to the meritorious students. In case of the number of eligible candidates exceeds the intake capacity, the department holds entrance test to select the qualified candidates.
Sl No Class  Socio-economic status Total
SC ST OBC General
1 TDC-I M 00 02 04 03 09
2 TDC I G 38 69 111 88 306
3 TDC-II M 06 00 04 14 24
4 TDC II G 21 31 96 71 219
5 TDC-III M 01 00 07 06 14
6 TDC III G 13 27 28 37 105
3.Changes made in the course or programmes during the past two years and the contribution of the faculty to those changes:
The department of Political Science, Bongaigaon College is affiliated to Gauhati University. Hence it undertakes the courses by the University for under graduate programme of Arts Stream. However, the faculty members designed their respective teaching plan and supply split up syllabus to the students for entire session confirming to the departmental academic calendar. The University has changed the syllabi of Political Science for TDC major and general classes in the year 2007.